The Parys Mountain penny was first struck in 1787 and continued in various forms (and a number of forgeries) until 1817. Halfpennies were also made. It is believed that altogether over 10 million coins were issued.
Parys Mountain - A Special Place
This section contains information about Parys Mountain generally, its features, history and ecology and some pictures of Parys Mountain. For up to date information about the Amlwch Industrial Heritage Trust and its activities please visit the Copper Kingdom website.
Parys Mountain is a special place, which has fascinated visitors for hundreds of years. Recent discoveries are pushing back the frontiers of knowledge of its early occupants as more evidence for early bronze age working of the mine is identified.
Evidence for Roman and Elizabethan interest in the copper is present but limited in volume. However, following the discovery of the Great Golden Venture lode in 1768, documentation begins to be more abundant. In the late eighteenth century a Dr A G L Lentin from the University of Leipzig spent six years at Parys Mountain and wrote at some length about what he found there. The Amlwch Heritage Trust has now translated the Lentin letters and they have been published. They provide an informed and comprehensive account of a number of mining and other features of the site.
In the summer of 1819 Michael Faraday toured through Wales, writing a chatty pre Victorian style journal, ostensibly for the benefit of his sister, Margaret. The journal recounts his excursion into the underground workings, the surface treatment of mined material and some details of its transportation. Also included are Faraday's visit to Bangor and Penrhyn slate quarry and, just for a little light relief, his account of a visit to a waterfall in south Wales with a local lass.
In Victorian times a number of accounts by visitors and guidebooks to the area were published. One was printed locally at Beaumaris by Enoch Jones in 1848. In 1960, Edwin Cockshutt, an engineer who had settled in Amlwch and made an extensive study of the mines, delivered a paper to the Anglesey Antiquarian Society describing the geology and mining of Parys Mountain.
In 1991 Gwynedd County Council, Anglesey Mining and Dr David Bick produced a leaflet describing a number of features at Parys Mountain.
In 1998 Menter Mon and the Amlwch Heritage Trust produced a new leaflet with a brief historical outlineof the mines, a brief biography of Thomas Williams (we hope to have more later), information on the unique ecology and a description of a number of features to see on a visit. This leaflet is currently available in Anglesey's tourist offices and local post offices.
In 1999 the Trust opened a visitor trail around the mountain and a car park at the main entrance from the Amlwch to Rhosybol/Llangefni road. The Trust also opened an information centre at Amlwch port which displays details of the area's fascinating history and exhibits artefacts from the mountain and port.
In 2003 the Port and Mountain featured in the BBC TV series 'Restoration'; Griff Rhys Jones enthused his way around the site but the associated competition for renovation cash was won by Manchester's Victorian swimming pool. In 2005, the Heritage Trust commissioned a Conservation Management plan and a Business plan as part of a multi-million pound application for Lottery funding.
The information in parts of this Parys Mountain section of the Anglesey Mining plc web site has been provided by a number of dedicated individuals, whose copyright is acknowledged and to whom the company wishes to express its grateful thanks.
|Anglesey Mining plc
Parys Mountain, Amlwch,
Anglesey, LL68 9RE, UK
|Phone +44 1248 361333